Back to Bikram

The day before yesterday I went back to Bikram Yoga for the first time since having my second child. It had been about 14 months since my last class. Happily, I felt like I pretty much picked up my practice where I left off. I didn’t remember the sequence of postures, which actually helped me be more mindful, rather than thinking ahead to what was next. (Bikram Yoga is a set of 26 postures, and 2 breathing exercises performed twice, in a heated room. The sequence is always the same.) It was great to have an hour and a half to completely focus on myself without interruption.

I don’t know how anything can be so refreshing and so exhausting at the same time!

I felt cleansed as my heart pumped blood all over my body, nourishing each cell. In “tree” pose, I actually had a sense of a solid, rooted and flourishing tree in my heart!  I definitely was much less stressed for the rest of the day- a great benefit for a mother of 4 year old and 6 month old daughters.  Now muscles all over my body are sore.  Thanks, Bikram Yoga Monterey!  I’m looking forward to experiencing new possibilities for my body, particularly a more mobile healthy and strong back.

About kathysyear

Happily married mother of 2 young girls. A SAHM for the moment. Medical Qigong Practitioner, mandolin player... Aspiring energetic and spiritual warrior for the planet!
This entry was posted in Health, yoga and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment